Skip to content

The Events Calendar includes not just NATHPO events but also trainings, exhibits, shows, conferences, and consultations put on by our community partners and are listed solely to provide information and are not endorsed by NATHPO.
Please feel free to submit an event using the (+); as soon as it is approved, it will appear on the calendar.

Reconciliation in Place Names Committee

Tuesday, November 14, 2023 (8:30 AM - 4:00 PM) (HST)


Reconciliation in Place Names Committee

On November 19, 2021, Secretary of the Interior Deb Haaland signed Secretary’s Order No. 3405 (Addressing Derogatory Place Names), which directed the National Park Service to establish a new Advisory Committee on Reconciliation in Place Names on behalf of the Department of the Interior.

On August 9, 2022, Secretary Haaland announced the members of the Advisory Committee.

Committee Purpose

The committee’s purpose is to identify existing federal land unit names and geographic feature names that may be considered derogatory and recommend potential replacement names to the Secretary of the Interior. The committee will also develop for the Secretary’s consideration a forward-looking process to solicit, encourage, and assist proposals to change derogatory geographic names. The committee will engage with Tribes, the Native Hawaiian Community, state and local governments, and the public.

The committee is managed under the Federal Advisory Committee Act. The committee’s charter, which outlines its duties, management structure, and membership requirements, is found here.

Committee Meetings

Committee meetings are open to the public and are announced in the Federal Register at least 15 calendar days in advance. Meeting notices published in the Federal Register provide detailed instructions on how to request to attend meetings and how to provide public comment.

Meeting materials will be made available on the FACA Database and on this page below.

Upcoming Meetings

November 14, 15, and 16, 2023

Federal Land Unit Names Subcommittee

Draft Working List of Federal Land Unit Names

Geographic Features Subcommittee

Draft Proposal to Full Committee
Draft Working List of Geographic Feature Names

Processes and Principles Subcommittee

Draft Place Name Reconciliation Principles

Past Meetings

June 14 and 15, 2023

Federal Land Unit Names Subcommittee

Bureau of Land Management Units (2022)
Bureau of Reclamation Land Management Units (2022)
Fish and Wildlife Service Land Unit Names (2022)
National Park Service Land Unit Names (2022)
U.S. Forest Service Land Unit Names (2022)

Geographic Features Subcommittee

Geographic Names Information System ( - user information for searching GNIS

Processes and Principles Subcommittee

Working Definition of Derogatory (Draft)

Written Public Comment

National Congress of American Indians Youth Commission
Native American Rights Fund
Native Organizers Alliance
The Wilderness Society

The U.S. Army and the Naming Commission - PowerPoint presentation

December 7 and 8, 2022

Committee Membership

The Advisory Committee on Reconciliation in Place Names is composed of up to 17 members appointed by the Secretary who represent Tribes and Tribal organizations, Native Hawaiian organizations, the general public, or have expertise in fields including civil rights, history, geography, and anthropology:

Derek Alderman – Professor of Geography, University of Tennessee
Angelo Baca – Assistant Professor, Department of History, Philosophy, and the Social Sciences, Rhode Island School of Design (Diné/Hopi)
Kiana Carlson – J.D. candidate, Mitchell Hamline School of Law (Ahtna Kohtaene, Taltsiine; Native Village of Cantwell, Alaska)
Julie Dye  Board Member, Eliminating Racism & Creating/Celebrating Equity (Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians)
Michael Catches Enemy – Tribal Archaeologist, Oglala Sioux Tribe Fifth Member’s Office (Oglala Sioux)
Donald Lee Fixico – Professor of History and Indian Studies, Arizona State University (Sac & Fox, Shawnee, Mvskoke, Seminole)
Christine Karpchuk-Johnson – Lecturer, Departments of Anthropology and Geography, University of Nevada Reno
Niniaukapealiʻi Kawaihae – Special Assistant, Department of Hawaiian Home Lands
Jason MacCannell – Special Assistant to the Director, California Department of Parks and Recreation
Kamanaʻolana Mills – Senior Supervising Project Manager, Sustainable Industry Development, Kamehameha Schools, Hawaiʻi
Lauren Monroe Jr. – Secretary, Blackfeet Tribal Business Council (Blackfeet Nation, Pikuni)
Federico Mosqueda  Coordinator of the Arapaho Language and Culture Program (Arapaho)
Rachel Pereira  Vice President of Equity and Inclusion, St. John's University
Kimberly Probolus-Cedroni – Historian, Washington, DC
Howard Dale Valandra – Member, Tribal Land Enterprise Board of Directors (Rosebud Sioux Tribe)
Aimee Villarreal  Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology, Texas State University
Elva Yanez  Senior Advisor for Parks, Land Use, and the Built Environment at the Prevention Institute

The Committee also includes four ex officio members from the Federal Government:

Charles Bowery, Executive Director, U.S. Army Center of Military History, Department of Defense
Meryl Harrell, Deputy Under Secretary for Natural Resources and Environment, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Lynn Trujillo, Senior Counselor to the Secretary, Department of the Interior
Zachary Penney, Senior Advisor, Office of the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere, Department of Commerce

For More Information

For additional information about the Committee, please contact:
Andrea DeKoter, PhD
Committee Manager
Office of Policy, National Park Service
(202) 354-2220
e-mail us
Tuesday, November 14, 2023 (8:30 AM - 4:00 PM) (HST)

November 14 2023 9am - 4:30pm

Powered By GrowthZone