Skip to content

Planning for coastal and marine heritage in a changing climate

Thursday, December 16, 2021 (1:00 PM - 2:00 PM) (EST)

Description


Webinar: Planning for coastal and marine heritage in a changing climate

Presented by: Erin Seekamp of North Carolina State University

Date/Time: Thursday, December 16, 1 pm US EST/10 am US PST/6 pm UTC

Description: Heritage sites represent our inherited traditions, objects, monuments, and land and seascapes that provide cultural connections and identities as well as societal benefits. Yet, coastal heritage sites are overwhelmingly at risk from climate change induced threats, such as storm-related flooding and erosion and sea level rise. Coupling climate risks with the political and financial constraints facing heritage management, it becomes clear that damage, destruction or loss of heritage is inevitable. In this webinar you will learn about strategies for adapting and accommodating loss that center planning efforts around heritage values, enable transformation of heritage sites, and enhance transparency when difficult decisions must be made.

Co-sponsors: NOAA National MPA Center and OCTO

Register: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1441735040595199248

Pricing

Free

Thursday, December 16, 2021 (1:00 PM - 2:00 PM) (EST)
Categories
Webinar
Powered By GrowthZone

The Department of the Interior has numerous consultations and listening sessions throughout the year: Consultations and Listening Sessions Schedule | Indian Affairs (bia.gov)

The Community Calendar includes not just NATHPO events but also events, trainings, exhibits, shows, and conferences put on by our community partners. Please feel free to submit an event using the + on the main Community Event Calendar; as soon as it is approved, it will appear on our calendar below.